A Bit About Me, from A-Z

Welcome to my blog! My name is Ingrid. I'm a mom of six, a writer, a lover of wine. I frequently break out in random song and coffee flows through my veins - could there be a connection? I have a son with Asperger's Syndrome while I have CDO (OCD in the proper alphabetical order). This makes life much more interesting. Come back often. Leave suggestions. I'm always looking for ideas.

To celebrate my love of cooking, I have a food blog at Cook With Honey - a play on words of my children's last name, where I write about family favourite recipes and recipes that look interesting; including German, Irish, Polish and even some Guamanian (in honour of my oldest son's birthplace).

After living in Albuquerque, New Mexico; Andersen Air Force Base, Guam - my oldest was born in Hagåtña; San Antonio, Texas; back to my hometown in the Northwest corner of the Adirondack State Park in New York State; and Lake Erie's Wine Country, half of my children and I moved to the city to rebuild our lives with my first love.  The others chose country life and to move up to the Adirondacks with their Dad.  

I'll be sharing my thoughts, tips, recipes and just day-to-day family life with you here on my blog. 




*♥*♥*

I had shared this post long ago and decided to use an updated version here so you could get to know me better:


About Me, A-Z

Age: 51. But I don't feel like it.

Bed size: King.  When we moved, my kids' Dad helped My Love take out the bed and he said he thought it was a California King. It is huge! (Yes, that was a bit surreal.)

Chore you dislike: Ironing clothes. Isn't permanent press supposed to mean you never have to iron it?

Dogs: I don't have any dogs right now. We moved and couldn't take him, so I had to part with my Greyhound/Jack Russell.  I Miss You, Scout!!

Essential start to your day: Kisses from My Love!

Favorite color: Forest Green.  I have copper hair and that shade of green looks awesome on me!!

Gold or silver: Gold.  I'm an Autumn, silver just doesn't work for me.

Height: 5'2-1/4" , I used to be 5'2-3/4".  My oldest and I had an accident and apparently when I dropped to the ceiling I lost 1/2 inch in height. 

Instruments you play(ed): I started with piano, added flute, alto clarinet, saxophone, xylophone and finally Cello a few years ago.  I took years of voice lessons and I'm slowly teaching myself guitar.

Job title: Mom and Homemaker right now. Eventually I want to get back out in the work force. 

Kids: Six.  As of this date they are 25, almost 20, 19,18, 16, almost 14.  Plus an assortment of their friends who call me "Mom".  I think I have around 13 kids at this point.

Live: With my children, My Love, three kitties, a Cockatiel and a very large red eared slider.. 

Mom’s name: Irma.  Not "Erma".  The German pronunciation of Irma (google it)."

Nicknames: I'm not a fan of nicknames but on occasion I tolerate Ingy, my Mom called me Ingela, my Dad called me  Cailín  (Irish), a classmate called me Dirgni (think about it).

Overnight hospital stays: When I had five of my six kids.  When William was born I signed myself out after 5 hours when he was transferred to Syracuse (I wanted to be with him and I stayed in the Ronald McDonald House).

Pet peeve: Improper English - spelling, punctuation, grammar, etc. 
Lying!!  I hate lies and I dislike those who tell them.  I can smell a lie and I will not tolerate it.

Quote from a movie: I know most would expect me to say "Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die." But no,  my favourite movie quote is also from Princess Bride but it's a conversation between Westley and Fezzik:  "Why won't my arms move?" "You've been mostly-dead all day". 

Righty or Lefty: Righty

Siblings: Four.  Three brothers with a sister in the middle - I was the baby.

Time you wake up: Wake up or time I am awake? The alarm goes off at 6:00, so I can get my youngest up for school at 6:30. After he leaves I lay back down until around 7:15.  Then I wake up and make my Sweetheart's breakfast and lunch. 

Underwear: ummm... yes

Vegetables you don’t like: Asparagus and Brussels Sprouts

What makes you run late: Usually my oldest daughter, she likes to start getting ready as we are heading for the car. I really prefer to be early.

X-Rays you've had: my back after my first roll-over when I was 16 (a sprain) and years later when my back started acting up. Not to mention a kazzilion at the dentists and orthodontists.

Yummy food you make: Oh, wow.  This one is tough.  I don't know how many times, especially lately while playing with the Crockpot, that I've been amazed at how delicious the dish was.  Because of My Love's Type 2 Diabetes I am trying to make more lowfat meals. 

Zoo animal favorite: Desert Cat.  He is soo adorable and his eyes look like the eyes of Spec, "The Cutest Kitten Ever Born."

*♥*♥*

Thank you for stopping by. Pour yourself something to drink, sit back and enjoy the view

Oh, wait! Check this out.  I was awarded this by my fellow bloggers. How cool is that?








                                     Hugs,

Ingrid


*♥*♥*




No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for reading my blog. I hope you enjoyed it.